Carbonite: Worth the price


Last night I was modifying a custom FileMaker database that I had invested countless hours on. I began trying to link an external database with my original one to provide a mail merge type of event in my layout. Somehow I managed to corrupt my database and although the records showed that there were 368 records, nothing would show up in any view no matter what I did. The head geek in the family had never had a database behave this way, but then again, he’s the head geek!

I felt a bit of panic begin to start. Just a bit. OK, a lot.

And then he reminded me that I have my Carbonite backup and my disaster recovery plan is in place. I opened my Carbonite preferences, clicked on restore, found the database from the previous save and clicked on it. I wisely restored it to my desktop rather than over the old file, because I had created a rather elaborate form in the corrupted database that I didn’t want to lose.

In under 3 minutes I had the entire file restored and was able to copy and paste the elements from the corrupted database form into the recovered version. Disaster averted!!

Carbonite has proven its worth and saved me many labor intensive hours. Survive a Computer Disaster with Carbonite Online Backup! Free trial to get you started-no credit card required.

Online Backup Review ranks Carbonite as number 1 for the consumer in October 2009. http://www.backupreview.info/2009/10/01/top-75-online-backup-companies-for-october-2009/

I have to agree. You just can’t get insurance like that for $54.95 a year anywhere else.

One Response to “Carbonite: Worth the price”

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Carbonite is worth its weight in files « 1VHC | Exploring Data Backup Solutions [1vhc.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com Says:

    [...] Carbonite is worth its weight in files « 1VHC | Exploring Data Backup Solutions 1vhc.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/carbonite-is-worth-its-weight-in-files – view page – cached Last night I was modifying a custom FileMaker database that I had invested countless hours on. I began trying to link an external database with my original one to provide a mail merge type of event… (Read more)Last night I was modifying a custom FileMaker database that I had invested countless hours on. I began trying to link an external database with my original one to provide a mail merge type of event in my layout. Somehow I managed to corrupt my database and although the records showed that there were 368 records, nothing would show up in any view no matter what I did. (Read less) — From the page [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

